Inland Empire/Desert Regional Consortium Logo and Doing What Matters Logo

Project: Nursing Placement and Clinical Site Coordination

Synopsis

Round 1 Funding (through 12/31/18)
$585,000
Round 2 Funding (through 12/31/19)
$292,504
Round 3 Funding (through 12/31/20)
$292,496
Lead: Carol Scobie, cscobie@collegeofthdesert.edu, College of the Desert
Number of colleges participating: 8
Colleges: Chaffey, College of the Desert, Copper Mountain, Mt. San Jacinto, Palo Verde, Riverside City, San Bernardino Valley, Victor Valley

Sector: Health

  • Program TOPS Codes: Licensed Vocational Nursing (123020), Registered Nursing (123010)
  • Metrics: Enrollments, Job Closely Related to Field of Study

Project Description: Clinical rotations are a required part of the nursing education program. Lack of clinical site placements is a barrier to increasing capacity in nursing programs as well as other allied health programs. A regional coordination and collaboration model for clinical placement will be deployed that coordinates hospital and skilled nursing facility/long term care placements for nursing students. Regional placement coordinators will communicate with each other to ensure that there is no overlapping of students from different institutions on a single ward in a hospital and will also be responsible for exploring other potential clinical and community sites. This model may be replicated and expanded to include other allied health programs in the future, if funding is available.

Status Update

As of June 30, 2018

Total Funded: $585,000

As of December 31, 2017

Total Funded: $292,504

As of December 31, 2017

Total Funded: $292,496

How to Get Involved

Resources to get involved coming soon.

Upcoming Events

No upcoming events.

Other Resources and Related Sites

Contacts

Carol Scobie
College of the Desert
cscobie@collegeofthdesert.edu
Kim Akin
Chaffey College
kimberly.akin@chaffey.edu
Vanessa Thomas
Chaffey College
vanessa.thomas@chaffey.edu
Sarah Fry
College of the Desert
sfry@collegeofthedesert.edu
Christi Blauwkamp
Copper Mountain College
cblauwkamp@cmccd.edu
Denise Roberts
Mt. San Jacinto College
droberts@msjc.edu
Avante Simmons
Mt. San Jacinto College
asimmons@msjc.edu
Jeanette Garrett
Palo Verde College
jeanette.garrett@paloverde.edu
Stephanie Lowry
Riverside City College
Stephanie.lowry@rcc.edu
Carol Wells
San Bernardino Valley College
cwells@valleycollege.edu
Tamara Maurizi
San Bernardino Valley College
tmaurizi@valleycollege.edu
Lois Trudeau
Victor Valley College
Lois.trudeau@vvc.edu